The List
These 90 schools are drawn from a starting universe of 1,607 four-year degree-granting colleges with selective admissions, drawn from roughly 7,000 degree-granting institutions in the United States. All 90 had undergraduate admit rates below 30% in either 2023 or 2024. The classification distinguishes between schools that are highly selective by genuine demand, and those that are highly rejective by deliberate institutional behavior.
A filled box means the college meets that category, numbered as in the legend above each table. Categories 1 and 2 are outcomes; 3 and 4 are behavior. A college is highly rejective if it meets two or more, at least one of them behavioral. How we classified.
Highly rejective 66
- 1 Wealth Concentration
- 2 Exclusion by Cost
- 3 Wealth-Seeking Behavior
- 4 Manufactured Selectivity
| College | Admitted, 2024 | Pell | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | Rejective choices |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| American Musical and Dramatic Academy | 24% | 39% | Legacy considered; Admit rate down 47 points since 2006; Exclusion by cost ($48,307) | ||||
| Amherst College | 9% | 18% | Wealth preference (17.3x); Early decision (45% of class) | ||||
| Babson College | 17% | 15% | Legacy considered; Early decision (49% of class); Exclusion by cost ($22,673); No grant aid for 64% of first-years | ||||
| Barnard College | 9% | 15% | Wealth preference (16.2x); Legacy considered; Early decision (61% of class); Exclusion by cost ($15,137) | ||||
| Bates College | 13% | 11% | Wealth preference (39.4x); Legacy considered; Early decision (63% of class); No grant aid for 56% of first-years | ||||
| Boston College | 16% | 13% | Wealth preference (38.6x); Legacy considered; No grant aid for 57% of first-years | ||||
| Boston University | 11% | 21% | Early decision (59% of class); Selectivity growth (−46pp since 2006); Exclusion by cost ($12,358) | ||||
| Bowdoin College | 7% | 19% | Wealth preference (25.5x); Legacy considered; Early decision (53% of class) | ||||
| Brown University | 5% | 15% | Wealth preference (38.4x); Legacy considered; Early decision (52% of class) | ||||
| Bucknell University | 29% | 13% | Wealth preference (52.1x); Legacy considered; Early decision (67% of class); Exclusion by cost ($24,630) | ||||
| Carleton College | 20% | 21% | Wealth preference (21.9x); Early decision (48% of class) | ||||
| Case Western Reserve University | 37% | 18% | Legacy considered; Selectivity growth (−30pp since 2006); Exclusion by cost ($11,111) | ||||
| Claremont McKenna College | 10% | 13% | Wealth preference (26.6x); Legacy considered; Early decision (67% of class) | ||||
| Colby College | 7% | 17% | Wealth preference (37.0x); Legacy considered; Early decision (60% of class); Selectivity growth (−26pp since 2006); No grant aid for 58% of first-years | ||||
| Colgate University | 14% | 11% | Wealth preference (42.9x); Legacy considered; No grant aid for 57% of first-years | ||||
| College of the Holy Cross | 18% | 16% | Wealth preference (17.1x); Legacy considered; Early decision (62% of class); Exclusion by cost ($12,725) | ||||
| Colorado College | 18% | 11% | Legacy considered; Early decision (61% of class); Exclusion by cost ($13,688) | ||||
| Columbia University | 4% | 21% | Wealth preference (15.5x); Legacy considered; Early decision (54% of class) | ||||
| Dartmouth College | 5% | 14% | Wealth preference (40.9x); Legacy considered | ||||
| Davidson College | 13% | 19% | Wealth preference (44.5x); Early decision (69% of class) | ||||
| Denison University | 17% | 13% | Legacy considered; Early decision (57% of class); Selectivity growth (−22pp since 2006); Exclusion by cost ($12,529) | ||||
| Duke University | 6% | 17% | Wealth preference (45.3x); Legacy considered; No grant aid for 59% of first-years | ||||
| Emory University | 11% | 18% | Legacy considered; Selectivity growth (−26pp since 2006) | ||||
| Franklin and Marshall College | 28% | 12% | Wealth preference (23.3x); Legacy considered; Early decision (57% of class); Exclusion by cost ($20,354) | ||||
| Georgetown University | 13% | 8% | Wealth preference (31.7x); Low Pell enrollment (8%); Legacy considered; Donor cultivation; No grant aid for 64% of first-years | ||||
| Grinnell College | 15% | 19% | Legacy considered; Early decision (65% of class); Selectivity growth (−30pp since 2006) | ||||
| Hamilton College | 14% | 19% | Wealth preference (25.2x); Legacy considered; Early decision (55% of class) | ||||
| Harvard University | 4% | 20% | Wealth preference (16.5x); Legacy considered; Recruit-to-reject | ||||
| Harvey Mudd College | 13% | 17% | Early decision (46% of class); Selectivity growth (−33pp since 2006); Exclusion by cost ($10,433) | ||||
| Haverford College | 12% | 15% | Wealth preference (18.0x); Legacy considered; Early decision (57% of class); No grant aid for 58% of first-years | ||||
| Johns Hopkins University | 6% | 21% | Wealth preference (18.4x); Early decision (59% of class); Selectivity growth (−22pp since 2006) | ||||
| Lehigh University | 26% | 19% | Wealth preference (22.7x); Legacy considered; Early decision (66% of class); Exclusion by cost ($19,014) | ||||
| Middlebury College | 11% | 18% | Wealth preference (30.4x); Legacy considered; Early decision (68% of class) | ||||
| New York University | 9% | 19% | Selectivity growth (−27pp since 2006); No grant aid for 59% of first-years | ||||
| Northeastern University | 5% | 17% | Legacy considered; Rankings gaming; Early decision (54% of class); Selectivity growth (−40pp since 2006) | ||||
| Northwestern University | 8% | 21% | Wealth preference (39.3x); Legacy considered; Early decision (56% of class); Selectivity growth (−22pp since 2006) | ||||
| Pitzer College | 25% | 8% | Low Pell enrollment (8%); Early decision (57% of class); Exclusion by cost ($21,188); No grant aid for 64% of first-years | ||||
| Princeton University | 5% | 22% | Wealth preference (20.1x); Legacy considered | ||||
| Skidmore College | 21% | 12% | Early decision (52% of class); Admit rate down 23 points since 2006; Exclusion by cost ($22,633) | ||||
| Smith College | 21% | 16% | Legacy considered; Early decision (55% of class); Admit rate down 32 points since 2006 | ||||
| Stanford University | 4% | 18% | Wealth preference (22.5x); Legacy considered | ||||
| Swarthmore College | 7% | 18% | Wealth preference (16.1x); Legacy considered; Early decision (52% of class) | ||||
| Trinity College | 29% | 13% | Legacy considered; Early decision (56% of class); Exclusion by cost ($16,885) | ||||
| Trinity University | 26% | 20% | Legacy considered; Admit rate down 35 points since 2006 | ||||
| Tufts University | 11% | 11% | Wealth preference (29.7x); Legacy considered; Exclusion by cost ($10,715); No grant aid for 59% of first-years | ||||
| Tulane University | 14% | 11% | Legacy considered; Early decision (63% of class); Selectivity growth (−24pp since 2006); Exclusion by cost ($21,446) | ||||
| University of Chicago | 4% | 16% | Wealth preference (23.5x); Rankings gaming; ED0; Selectivity growth (−36pp since 2006); Legacy considered | ||||
| University of Florida | 24% | 21% | Rankings gaming: its president was hired to climb U.S. News, froze enrollment and raised tuition for the student-faculty ratio, and helped write the state's Preeminence metrics (Francie Diep, 'The Rules of the Game', Chronicle of Higher Education, September 14, 2020); Admit rate down 24 points since 2006 | ||||
| University of Miami | 19% | 14% | Wealth preference (18.5x); Rankings and fundraising strategy (Chronicle of Higher Education, on Donna Shalala; source not yet read by an agent); Early decision (43% of class); Admit rate down 21 points since 2006; Exclusion by cost ($10,780) | ||||
| University of Michigan-Ann Arbor | 16% | 20% | Wealth preference (19.2x); Selectivity growth (−31pp since 2006) | ||||
| University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill | 15% | 18% | Legacy considered; Selectivity growth (−22pp since 2006); No grant aid for 62% of first-years | ||||
| University of Notre Dame | 11% | 16% | Wealth preference (38.6x); Legacy considered; Donor cultivation | ||||
| University of Pennsylvania | 5% | 20% | Wealth preference (42.4x); Legacy considered; Donor cultivation; Early decision (52% of class) | ||||
| University of Richmond | 22% | 15% | Wealth preference (29.1x); Legacy considered; Early decision (47% of class); Admit rate down 24 points since 2006; Exclusion by cost ($10,942) | ||||
| University of Southern California | 10% | 21% | Wealth preference (15.4x); Legacy considered; Exclusion by cost ($11,635) | ||||
| The University of Texas at Austin | 27% | 26% | Admissions overrides for applicants backed by donors and officials (Kroll report, as reported by the Dallas Morning News, July 20, 2015); Admit rate down 22 points since 2006 | ||||
| Vanderbilt University | 6% | 24% | Wealth preference (40.5x); Legacy considered; Early decision (51% of class); Selectivity growth (−29pp since 2006) | ||||
| Vassar College | 19% | 18% | Legacy considered; Early decision (48% of class); Exclusion by cost ($15,882) | ||||
| Villanova University | 27% | 12% | Wealth preference (32.5x); Legacy considered; Early decision (53% of class); Exclusion by cost ($30,980) | ||||
| Wake Forest University | 22% | 12% | Wealth preference (47.1x); Legacy considered; No grant aid for 66% of first-years; Admit rate down 21 points since 2006 | ||||
| Washington University in St. Louis | 12% | 21% | Wealth preference (62.8x); Legacy considered; Early decision (66% of class) | ||||
| Washington and Lee University | 14% | 12% | Wealth preference (53.4x); Early decision (61% of class); Legacy considered | ||||
| Wellesley College | 14% | 22% | Legacy considered; Early decision (53% of class); Selectivity growth (−22pp since 2006) | ||||
| Wesleyan University | 16% | 14% | Wealth preference (18.4x); Early decision (61% of class); No grant aid for 62% of first-years | ||||
| Williams College | 8% | 17% | Wealth preference (20.6x); Legacy considered; Early decision (46% of class) | ||||
| Yale University | 4% | 22% | Wealth preference (24.1x); Legacy considered |
Highly selective 24
- 1 Wealth Concentration
- 2 Exclusion by Cost
- 3 Wealth-Seeking Behavior
- 4 Manufactured Selectivity
| College | Admitted, 2024 | Pell | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | Rejective choices |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Bryn Mawr College | 29% | 14% | Early decision (44% of class) | ||||
| California Institute of Technology | 3% | 21% | Wealth preference (15.4x) | ||||
| California Institute of the Arts | 32% | 20% | Exclusion by cost ($44,687) | ||||
| Carnegie Mellon University | 12% | 18% | Selectivity growth (−22pp since 2006) | ||||
| Cooper Union for the Advancement of Science and Art | 21% | 27% | |||||
| Cornell University | 9% | 17% | Legacy considered; Donor cultivation | ||||
| Florida State University | 24% | 21% | Admit rate down 35 points since 2006 | ||||
| Franklin W Olin College of Engineering | 25% | 14% | |||||
| Georgia Institute of Technology | 14% | 12% | Selectivity growth (−53pp since 2006) | ||||
| The Juilliard School | 9% | 17% | |||||
| Macalester College | 29% | 13% | Exclusion by cost ($11,626) | ||||
| Massachusetts Institute of Technology | 5% | 20% | Donor cultivation | ||||
| Northeastern University Oakland | 17% | 25% | n/a | Legacy considered | |||
| Pomona College | 7% | 20% | Early decision (51% of class) | ||||
| Reed College | 25% | 15% | Exclusion by cost ($21,443) | ||||
| Rhode Island School of Design | 19% | 11% | Exclusion by cost ($48,379); No grant aid for 67% of first-years | ||||
| Rice University | 8% | 18% | Early decision (45% of class) | ||||
| Spelman College | 25% | 39% | Exclusion by cost ($21,095) | ||||
| University of California Berkeley | 11% | 27% | |||||
| University of California Los Angeles | 9% | 27% | |||||
| University of California-Irvine | 29% | 31% | Admit rate down 31 points since 2006 | ||||
| University of California-San Diego | 27% | 37% | |||||
| University of California-Santa Barbara | 33% | 28% | |||||
| University of Virginia | 17% | 16% | Wealth preference (16.3x); No grant aid for 72% of first-years |
Excluded institutions 31
The following schools had admit rates below 30% in either 2023 or 2024 but were excluded from the classification. Each exclusion reflects a specific rule or structural incomparability.
| College | Admitted, 2024 | Admitted, 2023 | Pell |
|---|---|---|---|
| Fewer than 50 first-year students 9 With so few first-year students an admit rate says little about the institution. | |||
| Cabarrus College of Health Sciences | 23% | 49% | 47% |
| Good Samaritan College of Nursing and Health Science | 46% | 17% | 57% |
| Helene Fuld College of Nursing | 17% | 24% | 33% |
| Riverside College of Health Careers | 13% | 17% | 33% |
| Summit Christian College | 42% | 14% | 0% |
| Trine University-Regional/Non-Traditional Campuses | 40% | 22% | 100% |
| Trinity Bible College and Graduate School | 26% | 36% | 78% |
| Visible Music College | 28% | 29% | 52% |
| Yeshiva Zichron Aryeh | 25% | 60% | 0% |
| Military academies 4 Federal institution. Congressional nomination required. Separate admissions system with no civilian comparison possible. | |||
| United States Air Force Academy | 14% | 14% | n/a |
| United States Coast Guard Academy | 22% | 24% | n/a |
| United States Military Academy | 12% | 14% | n/a |
| United States Naval Academy | 9% | 9% | n/a |
| Tuition-free by design 4 Charges students no tuition. A low admit rate reflects how many students it can fund, not engineered exclusion. | |||
| Berea College | 19% | 33% | 88% |
| College of the Ozarks | 12% | 15% | 46% |
| Curtis Institute of Music | 5% | 7% | 0% |
| Webb Institute | 14% | 20% | 7% |
| High Pell enrollment (Pell above 40%) 6 Enrolls the population highly rejective schools claim to want but demonstrably do not serve. | |||
| Alcorn State University | 45% | 25% | 85% |
| Crown College | 23% | 63% | 42% |
| Dallas Christian College | 22% | 84% | 55% |
| Florida Agricultural and Mechanical University | 21% | 21% | 56% |
| Grambling State University | 45% | 24% | 79% |
| University of Virginia's College at Wise | 29% | 94% | 65% |
| No federal aid 2 Accepts no federal funding. Pell and financial aid data unavailable. Cost exclusion and Pell categories cannot be assessed. | |||
| Hillsdale College | 21% | 21% | 0% |
| Minerva University | 3% | 4% | 0% |
| Single-year anomaly 5 A gap of 20 points or more between 2023 and 2024 admit rates, or a year not reported, indicates anomalous single-year data rather than structural selectivity. | |||
| Citadel Military College of South Carolina | 23% | 98% | 21% |
| Mississippi College | 29% | 49% | 37% |
| Pacific Oaks College | 34% | 10% | n/a |
| Touro University California | 0% | not reported | n/a |
| Whitworth University-Adult Degree Programs | 29% | not reported | n/a |
| Religious specialty school 1 Religious studies schools have a specialized population and mission that makes them atypical so they were excluded from the consideration. | |||
| Baptist Missionary Association Theological Seminary | 29% | 23% | n/a |
Admit rates: IPEDS. Pell: share of first-time, full-time freshmen, 2023-24, IPEDS. "n/a" means the figures that category needs are not reported for the college.